Spirit Animal Blog Award

Spirit Animal Award

Spirit Animal Blog Award

Not much else lifts me like peer recognition.  When Kelly Miles honored me with the Spirit Animal Blog Award last week I was buried, and yet the notification blasted me through. If you haven’t met her through her fascinating blog, Author Kelly Miles be sure to take a look at one of the kindest members of the blogosphere!

TYVM

Spirit Animal Blog Award Acceptance Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to that page.
  2. Post the award picture on your blog.
  3. Write a short paragraph about yourself and what your blog means to you.
  4. If you could be any animal, what would you be?
  5. Pick and notify ten nominees.
20160115_093937

(L)Cochise; Timber Wolf/American Husky and (R) Bonnie’s Solo; Buffalo Wolf/Alaskan Malamute celebrating Christmas in AZ

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My blog signifies to me that I overcame my fears of submitting and criticism (okay, unintentionally offending readers) and put my work out there.

As for what animal I think I’d like to be: I deduce I’d be a better wolf candidate than any other creature.

2014-05-06 11.50.14-1For decades I volunteered with several organizations rescuing wolves and wolf dogs (which I believe are the world’s most conflicted and misunderstood creatures): simply put, we seem to have kindred souls and I speak most canid dialects. For a season I actively lobbied to pass laws for stricter penalties for offenders and to stop the capture of wolves and breeding wolves with domestic dogs. Too many humans overlook how irresponsible this is – while they are both canids and (as of 1990) wolves and domestic breed dogs were indistinguishable by DNA, their natures conflict. One instinctively avoids man, the other (mostly) likes to please man.

Even so, very often my wolf companions led me through their healing journeys which I believe also helped me even more.  I’m more like them than any other animal I can think of (except maybe a whale 😉 ; pack oriented, loyal, astounding endurance, and fierce defenders of their territory. I like the idea of being a golden eagle, but I’m uneasy at heights lately. Or a horse. I think I’d make a grand horse.

We don’t have such options, so I continue pressing onward, embracing my imperfections and learning to appreciate myself as a work in progress.

Solo Horse Roo

Solo, Buffalo wolf/Alaskan Malamute and Roo c. 1993

My Spirit Animal Blog Award Nominees:

1. Arlene Powers at Arlene Powers Bird Art and Discussion Site
2. Suddenly Single in Marin, Surely the Wild and Whimsical know their Animal Spirits
3. Patrick Marsh at What the Basement Said, Dachshunds and monsters are animals. Right?
4. Bob Mayer at Write on the River.
5. Yechielyah at The BPS Blog
6. Sarahs Attic of Treasures
7. Charles French Words Reading and Writing
8. Corngoblin
9. Diane at Ladies Who Lunch Reviews
10. Cynthia at Tales for Life

thank you

“So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.” The Bible, 1 Thessalonians 5:11 (NLT)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Spirit Animal Blog Award

  1. green wiley

    i remember chato when me and the girls came to visit you in walla walla, wa. those were good times. he was a good dog or should i say wolf. congrats on the award.

    Like

  2. I love your connection and interpretation to your spirit animal! Congratulations on the all deserving award:)

    Like

  3. I love huskies and cheer on wolves in the wild. I’m so glad they have your love and understanding:) If we just tried to understand dogs and wolves as they try to understand us, I think we’ll have a lot less conflict.

    Like

  4. Mysticalwriter

    Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

Of course I'd like to hear from you!

