R.I.P. Elie Wiesel

Another important post from Charles French

charles french words reading and writing

Elie_Wiesel_2012_Shankbone

https://commons.wikimedia.org

Elie Wiesel, the Nobel laureate, and author of Night, his memoir of being a prisoner in the Holocaust, died this weekend.  Mr. Wiesel, besides being an extraordinary writer, whose work brought the experience of the evil of the Holocaust to the forefront of many readers, was also one of the most powerful moral voices of our time.

I read Mr. Wiesel’s book Night as a teenager, and I was deeply struck by the power and the messages it contains.  I made a connection with the horror of the Holocaust and the hope of humanity through this text.  I will keep the discussion of my personal impact of this book short, because it is so deep and so complex that I could write forever on it.  But, it was another lesson that we are all connected and must remember this joint humanity–always.

Mr. Wiesel argued powerfully that it is…

View original post 197 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Notes from the Apex

5 responses to “R.I.P. Elie Wiesel

  1. I just read another post on Eiie Wiesel, what a Man. Gosh , it is an amazing life story, amazing , inspiring, gosh, to go through that and become so wonderful, the strength of character, oh my. And here I am stressing over trivial stuff.

    Thanks for sharing. RIP Elie.

    Like

    • Glad you saw it. I felt horrible after reading Charles’ entire article. Hours later I remembered reading The Night Trilogy and Dawn while in my teens. Wiesel disturbed (in a very good way) me so, I literally had to forget about injustice, indifference, apathy, etc. so I could get to sleep and get up with the kids.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you very much!

    Like

Your thoughts matter more than you know. Of course we'd like to hear from you!

