Techno-kids

My new friend Victo Dolore’s recent post Wormholes at Behind the White Coat… sent my mind rummaging through old memories. I’d been bumbling through technology, again wishing Quinn could help me out – again.

kid phone pixabayI’ll be the first to say I wasn’t the world’s best mom – but I wasn’t among the worst either. Far too young when I started, with barely a clue about life, I’m now an authority on how not to parent.

My grandparents being my rocks, I now take being a grand parent seriously. Experience and not bearing the full burden of responsibility for young humans makes an immense difference.

My guys grew up technologically savvy and passed their skills on to their kids early. Clearly they didn’t get their skills from me, but I’m glad they have them.

On an outing to the zoo with the grand kids I met strong resistance collecting cell phones (from the 8-10 year olds!). “It’s just us today, gang,” I explained as their connections to the world disappeared inside Roo’s magic bag. I heard Ten-Year-Old mumble barely beneath her breath, “Yeah, us and hundreds of other people.”

Toward the end of the visit Eight-Year-Old asked to have one device – any one. He wanted a photo of us all enjoying each another.

Point taken.

Grandchildren are the crowning glory of the aged; parents are the pride of their children.” Proverbs 17:6 (NLT)

11 Comments

Filed under Notes from the Apex

11 responses to “Techno-kids

  1. Pingback: Featured Posts 116 – Share your blog posts. | a cooking pot and twistedtales

  2. It was wonderful of you to take the phones to enjoy the day, but just as wonderful that you recognized that phones can also capture moments and memories. Love the lessons we learn from the young! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Now that’s a lovely time. They don’t realize how distracting those gadgets can be and I always take away my children’s own when we go out, of course with their grumbling.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They are clever in getting their devices returned, aren’t they.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. EEk! Six yr olds with cell phones? Nope! Good tactic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for bringing a misstatement to my attention! Their ages ranged from 6 to 10 years. Children in possession of cells were 8 – 10, emphasis on the 10’s 😀 By 5th grade the parents especially appreciate the GPS/tracking features 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the collecting of cell phones! Technology can be such a blessing and a curse. Thank you for the shout out! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Your thoughts matter more than you know. Of course we'd like to hear from you!

