More Hopeful – Bliends

Art by Rob Goldstein

Reading Robert Goldstein‘s posts usually grab me by the throat with his raw emotion and common sense, especially his recent post, Dissociative Identity Disorder: Anger and Shame. (You’ve met my friend, Hope).

I agree that to continue as a healthy society, all American’s must get past the stigma of Mental Health and Mental Illness. I appreciate Rob’s conviction to “… remind people that the only way we can fix a problem we collectively created is to act collectively.” Rob does more than talk/blog his opinion – he is hands-on involved with numerous organizations to affect a positive difference. Ya gotta respect that.

Spoiler alert: Rob leans toward disputations regarding politics. In my experience discussing politics in open forums tends to divide people rather than uniting us, so I avoid doing so. There’s too much disunity in the world already. However, after following Rob for several months I respect his opinions. We don’t agree on everything, but his passions and his objectives are unmistakable. Please give him a read.

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.” Romans 8:28 (NLT)

5 Comments

Filed under A Door Ajar

5 responses to “More Hopeful – Bliends

  1. I follow Robert and I agree with you that his posts are simply deep and thought provoking.

    Like

  2. Working in the public school setting, I am aware of a movement called “Trauma Informed Schools” that we are looking into as nurses. Keep us in your prayers.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein and commented:
    Thank you, Roo for the re-blog!

    Like

  4. Thank you for re-blogging my post…

    I’m often conflicted about posting my political views but my life as a mental health patient and as a gay man has always been shaped by politics.

    I can now marry my partner of 24 years thanks to the persistent activism of
    the gay community and our allies.

    40 years ago the state had the right to invade my bedroom and arrest and incarcerate me.

    I believe that the personal is political.

    I see no way to separate the lack of medical resources for mental health patients from our collective political decisions.

    Forty years ago we had a fully funded national mental health system and enough hospital beds and housing to keep people with mental illnesses safe, and now we don’t.

    The thing that changed was the way the American people chose to vote; that’s the essence of democracy.

    We are responsible for the choices we make as individuals and as a nation.

    Discussing politics may divide people; but not discussing politics can mean death to those who are on the receiving end of the worst of our political decisions.

    Somehow we need to see the connection between the suffering on our streets and the way we as a people choose to vote.

    Thank you again….I appreciate this.

    Like

  5. Every now and then, I write about my depression and the need for greater treatment and more alternatives. Sadly, many of our mentally ill are now incarcerated, with little or no access to professional care. Let us communally pray for those in need of care.

    Liked by 1 person

Of course I'd like to hear from you!

