Gravity

Is it just me? Or does anyone else remember falling as a child?

I tripped and fell down a lot. Okay, we can make that present tense and still be accurate. But I remember as a child how immediately after the bonk-boink-thud I’d first look around to see if anyone saw me. Even then I hoped to rewrite the story.

How times have changed.  Now we look around for witnesses in case we are hurt and want to go to court.

falling-pixabay

Over my first few months here I stumbled and tripped around the property and fell a few times. I adapted remarkably fast so life is less painful and with the full use of all my limbs projects flow much more smoothly.

At this juncture of my life I don’t mind falling; I mind the landings very much. Gravity, no woman’s good friend, is a necessary evil. Has anyone else tried indoor sky diving? Yeah! Falling can be great. Aside from that, in my experience landings generally tend to initiate a surprisingly costly, painful and lengthy healing process.

I like dancing in the breeze, with or without my four-legged companions, my arms up, breathing in the fresh air. That is until my boot slips and my torso shoots in a different direction than my legs. Again with the landing.

“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me.”*

During the cold season I feel every hit my body ever took – and I thank God I continue to enjoy mobility. Still, I expect my love-hate relationship with gravity shall continue – indefinitely.

20170228_123156Some of my landings since childhood have taken their toll on me. And yet, I dance in the pastures, arms out, breathing in the fresh air, Girlfriend trotting along just in case a tasty morsel awaits her in my pocket. I delight in walking with Ol’ Scout loping around me, his tongue happily flapping in the breeze. These are the moments for which I’ve lived as long as I can remember.

Today I perceive the world differently than I did as a child. I still fall, but I fear other things more than gravity; (forgetting an important appointment), hatred, disease, poverty. I still don’t like falling much, a-n-n-d I dread landings more than ever. Even so I dance, jog and sometimes run. Okay, I sprint and I walk after dusk. I am more convinced than ever before the end result is the same.

In my case that would be heaven. Thank you, Jesus!

“For God expressed His love for the world in this way: He gave His only Son so that whoever believes in Him will not face everlasting destruction, but will have everlasting life.” John 3:16 (The Voice)

* Philippians 3:12 (NLT)

Image courtesy Pixabay

 

12 Comments

Filed under Notes from the Apex

12 responses to “Gravity

  1. Pingback: Featured Posts – Do You Have Posts To Share? | a cooking pot and twisted tales

  2. Falling down as a child meant nothing to me because it happened frequently. Now as an adult, I try to as careful as humanly possible. I don’t want to imagine broken bones right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember wrecking my bike a lot, and subbed toes on the concrete. We were heathens! 😄 I was so much more brave when I was younger. I loved roller coasters, wanted to sky dive, bunjy jump, etc. Now that I am approaching 40 those things scare me, and, funny, I also fear my landings. Broken bones, injuries. I am interested in trying that suspended yoga, indoor Rock climbing, and that indoor sky diving looks safe enough.

    Like

  4. We used to joke about gravity being stronger in W Colorado than in N Illinois when we moved west. In reality, it took us awhile to get used to the winding unpaved roads instead of the flat highways in IL. It’s a good picture of the extra bumps we can expect following the narrow path that leads us home.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wasn’t much of a daredevil as a child and that carried into adulthood.
    Funny story: after I had some extensive neck surgery several years ago, the surgeon told me “For the first year, no horseback riding, skydiving or bungee jumping.” (I’m sure you can tell by looking at me I’m not a bungee jumper!)
    Lately I’ve become more aware that my desire for safety extends beyond just physical safety. I’ve been trying to take more risks, both in my writing and in my relationships. Sometimes it’s scary, but after a quick prayer all is right again. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • So, then you can appreciate the delight I experienced in horseback riding last year, two years after spinal surgery. Your adventures in writing delight and inspire me, Christi. What’s more, reading your posts and your new, AD FREE look actually pressed me to step out of my comfort zone as well. So true, prayer sets it all to right again. ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I remember hanging upside down on a flimsy swing set trapeze and landing with a mighty thud on my head. I didn’t think I’d ever get air back in my lungs. That was probably more than 65 years ago, and it is still a vibrant memory.

    Recently I was filling out a form for a wellness visit with the doctor. The question was, are you afraid of falling? I checked the yes box and added, “Isn’t everyone afraid of falling?” I was thinking if they aren’t afraid of falling, they ought to be. You rightly pointed out that it isn’t the falling, it’s the landing.

    I think if God calls you to a dance of praise, then dance with abandon. He’ll either make you well or take you home. Blessings on your dances!

    Like

    • I remember doing nearly exactly the same on a visit to a new physician. I asked the nurse and the doctor what’s the point of the question about falling. They mutually stated it’s a “standard” question, the answer is taken in consideration with the other questions about overall health and fitness, but it is mostly used in evaluating elderly patients. We all agreed the question could be worded better. I was happy to know the results of my bone density indicated I needn’t be concerned about falling for the time. See there Anne, practice makes perfect! I agree we should dance as long as we can. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I remember falling down as a child but I was more resilient then and lower to the ground. 🙃 I fell a few months ago and landed on my left hand. I wore an Actipatch loop, which took care of the bruising within a week. Also, it helped my wrist joint. It’s almost back to 100% now – whew. I’m 71 and try to be careful and I constantly run in place. Stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to hear the wrist healed quickly, though it likely didn’t seem quick at any rate. I too run through the three rooms of the cottage often when either inclement weather or work seem to trap me. It’s far less hazardous than outdoor but not as invigorating. Be blessed, Eugenia!

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts matter more than you know. Of course we'd like to hear from you!

