Surprised By Joy

“Walking and talking are two very great pleasures, but it is a mistake to combine them. Our own noise blots out the sounds and silences of the outdoor world; … The only friend to walk with is one who so exactly shares your taste for each mood of the countryside that a glance, a halt, or at most a nudge, is enough to assure us that the pleasure is shared.”
― C.S. Lewis, Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life

Rather than walking, I spend much of my time these days gardening, in the absence of real, present time human company. Friends’ encouraging and informative words visit me as I labor, but for the most part I listen to the livestock and the earth.

They actually resound all that I or anyone I know needs to hear.

 

“Let your roots grow down into him [Jesus], and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.” Colossians 2:7 (NLT)

12 Comments

Filed under Notes from the Apex, photography

12 responses to “Surprised By Joy

  1. Pingback: What Next: Behind Roo's Ruse

  2. Wow. You must be master of the green thumb! Beautiful and enticing pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Everything looks so lush and alive, Roos. Gorgeous.

    Walk and talk–brings to mind my daughter’s time at the Naval Academy. They weren’t allowed to walk and talk on their phones. Not a bad rule!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a good principle. The ways my son’s and daughter-in-law’s military experience often influences me also astounds me. Now retired from his long career with the Army, I’m delighted SecondSon now has a tad more time to chat about gardening with me. And I appreciate his perspective more than ever. The way it feeds my spirit and soul I sometimes wonder if I wasn’t waylaid from this life early on ;). I’m such a hapoy Roo getting to know you (& your family vicariously), Jacqui. 👍

      Like

  4. You know more about peace than many people.

    Like

  5. Adebisi Adetunji M.

    What a peaceful, calm and perfect morningRoos…Too much noise in the world we live in and most times it takes determination and sometimes something causes us to stop to get that silent moment like been woken up by bite of an ant in the middle of the night and reading your post to wait for the sting in my arm to subside 😀 I suddenly can hear the sounds of the crickets loud and clear. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love these images! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts matter to me. Of course I'd like to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.