Run Away Brain

Before I was fully awake I stumbled over a toy that my most recent house guests had left behind.

 

 

Moving forward regardless, even before I prepared the trace amount of caffeine I allow myself, I was fussing and fuming over something else – it doesn’t take much. I’m often amazed how, at my age and with my wealth of experience, even now I can go from quiet tranquility to untamable shrew in 4.0 seconds*.

As happens sometimes, something reminded me of a fragment of the dark, sad past. Today, instead of reminding myself that was then and this is now, and without the little dogs to remind me Someone is always listening, I soon forgot I’m not actually alone here.

Heartbeats later I gave voice to the thoughts blowing through my mind like the gale force winds that uprooted the tallest tree from the yard, and tore away half the roof on the hen house.

Yep, suddenly angry words busted outta me like a runaway train.

Annnd once again I soon came to appreciate another of the advantages of life here in Our Place: as I worked up to a full-blown rage over ancient history Jesus’ warning from Matthew came to mind – hitting me like a board across the face:

“But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken.”**

Like a muzzle check on a firing range, that advice shut my mouth and reset my reality in a heartbeat.

I no sooner confessed the open sewer line of thoughts I’d spewed into the air, asked forgiveness and then begged God to reverse any evil I caused, than the cottage radiated peace again.

With that, my latte and I found today’s place in Jesus Calling*.

Even now I am astounded by how, from the beginning of infinity God knew this morning was coming. Not only so, He also had His plan in place to comfort and help me – today and forever:

“When you focus on what you don’t have or on situations that displease you, your mind also becomes darkened. … You look for what is wrong and refuse to enjoy life until that is “fixed.”

When you approach Me [Jesus] with thanksgiving, the Light of My Presence pours into you, transforming you through and through…*”  (Genesis 3:2-6; 1 John 1:7 ) Sarah Young

Thank God we can stop run-away brains – restarting from right here and now. Oh, and can we keep early today and the rest of our pasts between Jesus, us and these walls?

Thanks!

“Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.”

James 1:26 NIV

 

Featured Image courtesy Pixabay

2016 Camaro SS image courtesy of Jalopnik

*(c) 2004 by Sarah Young, Published by Thomas Nelson, Inc. , Nashville, TN, USA

**Matthew 12:36 (NIV)

14 Comments

Filed under A Door Ajar

14 responses to “Run Away Brain

  1. “Jesus Calling” speaks to me so many mornings! It is amazing how many times those words are directed to me!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been reading it a few months at a time for a few years now. I get more from it when I read it this way than if I try to finish it in a year (yeah, wonderfully made is an understatement 😉 ). It frequently astounds me how it seems to be speaking directly into my life in particular. Thank you so much for stopping by again. I enjoy our chats ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so good! So easy to do, I too for sure do this. Thank God for grace for times we find ourselves doing this. We can repent and move on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by, “Grace”. When I first came to faith in Jesus I worried that my strong language and my temper would offend my newfound friends. That was long ago, and I can report that even now I’m usually in good company. “None is righteous. No, not one.” Romans 3:10

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this, Roo. I too have a habit of finding myself buried in dark thoughts, fortunately I’m always shaken from them and made to see how silly I’m being. That in itself is reason to be grateful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You Christi? Nah! JK. I learned in our huge family that we all have our moments. I pray I notice when others are going through a dark tunnel and shine a light – but not in anyone’s eyes! How annoying is that?!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You may have let loose, but you realized what you were doing and got help stopping it. That is an excellent example for the rest of us. I don’t usually voice irritation, but the thoughts are just as lethal in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anger is part of our emotional make-up. Depending on your past no matter how much you try to subdue those feelings and emotions ~~ Triggers happen. Even Jesus was angry with those making a mockery of the Temple and he threw them out. Not that we should become angry at everything in life but Anger can be a catalyst for change for improvement.

    That’s what happened to me when by accident I got hit in my left eye at work. Literally I saw stars and spent several hours in Lenox Hill Hospital. Yes I still have anger at the managers for negligence and incompetence. The accident has forced me to re-evaluate my life and consider early retirement. Look for new or better opportunities where I can use my skills, talents and abilities.

    Now I have not seen well out of that left eye in years due to a stroke but to get hit in my already damaged eye just added insult to injury. One expects to leave work in the same condition that you came in not spend time at the hospital or various doctors offices. I have no respect for management so perhaps it’s time for me to fill out those forms for retirement and move onto something better. Jesus called Herod a “sly fox.'” The Lord did not tolerate idiots or fools.

    Everything happens for a reason. So hopefully as I recover my prayer is for a positive outcome.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts matter to me. Of course I'd like to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.